Mental health

The Taylor Centre

1.1
19 reviews

No description has been entered for this service.

Address
Warrior House
42-82 Southchurch Road
Southend-on-Sea
Essex
SS1 2LZ

Contact
01702 456800
www.sept.nhs.uk

Claim this service

Complete the form below to make a service management claim and one of our team will be in touch

Already claimed a service? Click here to login.

  • Strength indicator
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

19 reviews from the local community

Read Feedback

#15 of 52 Mental health services in Essex

Terrible Excellent
  • Overall
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Wait Time
  • Care

Tell us about your experience...

Overall Rating*: (Terrible to Excellent) Terrible Excellent

Staff (Terrible to Excellent) Terrible Excellent

Facilities/environment (Terrible to Excellent) Terrible Excellent

Treatment and care (Terrible to Excellent) Terrible Excellent

Accessibility/waiting times (Terrible to Excellent) Terrible Excellent

Your details

Yes No

The Taylor Centre Feedback

  1. Horrendous

    There’s a reason this in the middle of the two suicide hotspots. Will leave you worse than when you started. If you even get an appointment. They might not even tell you that you have an appointment. You certainly won’t be getting any help.

  2. Horrible bullies

    Will misdiagnose you several times make you sick with the wrong medication mentally abuse you bully you make you cry at every appointment act like you’re attention seeking despite going into cardiac arrest from a suicide attempt

    • EPUT Patient Experience Team (Director of Patient Experience) replied on

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the Taylor Centre. We are sorry you found our services below the standard of which we would expect. Please accept our apologies for any upset this may have caused you. We are keen to discuss this more with you and identify opportunities for learning. Please contact our Patient Advise & Liaison Service (PALS) by emailing them directly at [email protected] or by Telephone on 0800 0857935 if you would like to discuss the matter. Thank you.

  3. Avoid the Taylor Centre like a bad cold

    It’s an awful service. They just don’t care to help you at all, with anything.

    • EPUT Patient Experience Team (Director of Patient Experience) replied on

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the Taylor Centre. We are sorry you found our services below the standard of which we would expect. Please accept our apologies for any upset this may have caused you. We are keen to discuss this more with you and identify opportunities for learning. Please contact our Patient Advise & Liaison Service (PALS) by emailing them directly at [email protected] or by Telephone on 0800 0857935 between the hours of 10am to 4pm Monday to Friday if you would like to discuss the matter.

  4. Awful

    You’ll wait ages for an appointment, that’s even if they let you know you have an appointment and not just claim you didn’t show so they can remove you from their files. They won’t return calls. Someone is alway ‘gonna get back to you’. You’ll never see the same person twice so you’re repeating the same old stuff again and again, never going any further with help.

    • EPUT Patient Experience Team (Director of Patient Experience) replied on

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the Taylor Centre. We are sorry you found our services below the standard of which we would expect. Please accept our apologies for any upset this may have caused you. We are keen to discuss this more with you and identify opportunities for learning. Please contact our Patient Advise & Liaison Service (PALS) by emailing them directly at [email protected] or by Telephone on 0800 0857935 between the hours of 10am to 4pm Monday to Friday if you would like to discuss the matter.

  5. Absolute shite

    Been using, or attempting to use, this service for about 15 years. It gets worse and worse. They’ll claim you failed to attend appointments even though they never gave you any. The psychiatrist makes it a sport to ignore you. Somebody is always gonna call you back and that never happens. I can’t say anything good about it

  6. This Place is Garbage, the Staff are Morons

    THESE PEOPLE ARE GARBAGE! Do not come for them help, the place should be Shut Down.
    So, a few things to say: The Taylor Centre used to be on top of a Multi-Story Car Park in Essex Street as part of a Larger Facility called “Queensway House” which had a variety of Resources including an Old Age Club, and a Basement for Special Needs People to experience Communal Activities and a Sensory Room with a Light Show Box to be used for Relaxation, and the Taylor Centre Clinic on the Top Floor. This was demolished and made into a Car Park because not only was the Ground Rent steep, but the person who secured the Budget Died without passing on the Skill Set, and there was at the time a Newspaper Headline Appeal to find someone to replace him, which clearly failed. That’s why the Taylor Centre is now between a Stripper’s Club and a Cannabis Lifestyle Shop on the Southchurch Road.
    Also during that era, they had a morbidly obese Psychiatrist who was suspended due to looking at inappropriate material on the Net and for having an affair with his Secretary.
    I was diagnosed due to the unfortunate mistake that my Father, who was much older than you’d expect, couldn’t understand the potential of my Career Plans – which I was making good Academic Progress towards, lots of Self-Sacrifice – because he was out of touch with how the Internet was giving more opportunities to people wanting to work in the Arts. So, Draconian as he was, he didn’t try and talk me out of it, or try to reach an understanding, he just made a nasty remark to his Psychiatrist that my plans “were crazy” during a House Call (he was immobile due to Cancer and Depression) and his offhand remark was enough to convince the Psychiatrist that he should ruin things for me, without checking the facts or asking my Mother. Later, instead of listening to my complaints, I got told I was Delusional and Aggressive for putting my side of things forward-that my Dad was in no Condition (he only lived another 5 years) to accurately portray me, and the Psychiatrist was Insensitive and Corrupt, merely concerned with meeting his work Targets. Five years later the Mental Capacity Act 2005 made the impromptu way I was diagnosed Illegal. I have been repeatedly making my case over the years, which is exhausting because I was an Only Child and my Family is Old Fashioned and find all this hard to Understand, so I have few allies in this struggle. Not to mention the Discrimination I face. I patiently point out that in America this is a well understood Phenomenon. There Misdiagnosed People are called “Pseudopatients”, the process by which this happened was revealed in the famous Scientific Study by Rosenhan, called “On Being Sane in Insane Places”. I am always disregarded when I argue, because believing you don’t have a Mental Illness is itself a Symptom called “Lack of Insight”. By that Logic, Everyone is Mentally Ill. And so I am ignored and thrown in Hospitals over Rumour and Hearsay. I’ve proven that my Notes are Inaccurate using the Freedom of Information Act, but that is still disregarded because the Staff are Trained not to Listen to Patients or Care about the Consequences of their Mistakes disrupting the Course of their Patients’ Lives. It is a Crime they are committing, according to the 1972 Defamation Act.
    An interesting final note about medication, though I don’t agree with the Diagnosis and think PTSD, Munchausen by Proxy, or Autism would be more appropriate given the abuse and developmental delays I’ve suffered through all of this: When I ask for Antidepressants I’m told I’m not allowed them due to “the risk of a Manic Episode” (my Anger and Frustration gets called that. Relating my Academic and Professional Accomplishments gets called “Delusional”). So just think about that: it’s more important to THESE IDIOTS that someone doesn’t have a Manic Episode, than the possibility that they might become so Depressed they kill themselves. Better you’re a dead body, than embarrassed. Also interesting is that before trying to Study Arts at University, I Studied Psychology there. So, from my Experience apparently Psychiatrists aren’t at all pleased to meet like-minded people trying to work in a Similar Career, and would rather Sabotage such people than be Supportive or Mentoring in attitude!
    Also, I had a Ward Friend for a while, and every new meet-up she’d tell me about another of her Ward Friends committing Suicide, so obviously there is a lot of fishy stuff going on, even if they won’t acknowledge it.
    As I say, THE TAYLOR CENTRE IS GARBAGE, do not bring your Loved Ones anywhere near it. It should be Closed by The Care Quality Commission.

  7. Absolutely disgusting

    Care co ordinator what a joke .only started seeing one in November and 3 times she has failed to turn up .then sends a letter to say she will call when on annual leave then 2 days later another letter arrives to say she’s on annual leave and if in need of help call 111 bla bla bla ..a bit to late when I tried to commit suicide .
    You do not mess with someone’s mental health by giving them false hope of you actually caring .
    I am absolutely disgusted with the way I have been treated and will be taking this further.

  8. They Lie.

    They said I had my medication on 26/06/21 that was a Saturday. Why would they lie? I ask myself as a person who suffers from paranoid schizophrenia I feel let down with the service this place gives.

  9. Despicable

    I was referred there due to constant anxiety and panic attacks, unable to leave my home and suicidal thoughts on a regular basis. They made me feel that I was exaggerating, that I was worthless, they were extremely rude to me and when they phoned me for an immediate home visit for no other reason other than to waste time when I said no, I was told that I no longer require the service. I received zero support for the three months I was referred to the service, I had three appointments that were all strangely “initial assessments” with zero progress.

  10. Absolutely useless

    My social worker is useless, said that although over the past 3 years I’ve told her everything ,I feel as if I’ve completey wasted my time ,his none of it’s on my records all it says I’m told by my social worker is mental health relapse.
    🙄🙁😡 What’s the point, all I get asked is am I eating ,am I sleeping ,do I take medication. If I go in hospital talk that happens is given medication and that’s it.
    I’ve been waiting for counsellling first two years , it never happens.
    What’s the point , they are useless.

  11. Absolutely useless

    My social worker is useless

  12. Waiting in limbo

    I had a care coordinator that was unreachable, so I went though PALS to change. After waiting all over Christmas and New Year I finally met my new care co (after a fair amount of chasing). Things seemed good, and he had a lot to do as his predecessor had done nothing. But it seems that again I’m waiting to be important enough to be seen to. I really don’t know why I thought it would be different.
    I also understand that the service is overstretched, and are basically just fighting fires. But everyone should be cared for and about, who is under the care of the Taylor center.

    On the positive, when I’ve had one to one psychotherapy, it’s been great.

  13. Saw a new psychiatrist

    after 2 visits I was discharged from the taylor centre which I have been going to for years leaving me with nothing

  14. Bad Phone Manner

    You’ll be rung up by someone asking to talk to you, no respectful “Mr”, just “May I talk to [Firstname]?” And that’s it. You’re expected to recognise the voice, and have to press the issue to get a name out of them, and then press harder to get the Organisation Name out of them. That is the kind of idiot they think is worth employing. They should realise if they are going to drill their Staff in “Scripts to Handle the Public”, then they should be Scripts that make sense. In the modern era, phone conversations are rarer, because everyone texts. Possibly they Skype. At any rate, someone calling up and being so abrupt is going to sound like just another Telephone Scammer and should not be surprised with a cold response.

    Also, my last complaint on here was about the disgraceful proximity of this Centre to a Stripper’s Club and a Drug Paraphernalia Shop, both either side of the Taylor Centre. This, apparently, can’t be addressed due to the Anonymous nature of my complaint. Even though it is something that all the Staff and Patients can see with their own eyes. And you, dear reader, may see it here: [Link Removed]
    Not, I think you’ll agree, something a trauma case wants to see before an appointment…

  15. I was bullied on more than one occasion.

    Awful experience! I was bullied and made to cry. I wasn’t listened to or taken seriously.

    • Pamela Madison replied on

      Thank you for leaving this feedback. I am sorry that you have not had a good experience at the Centre. We would like the opportunity to conduct a full investigation into the concerns you have raised. To do this we would need your name and contact details. If you would like to investigate please email your concerns to: [email protected]

  16. Come out of here feeling utterly helpless.

    Feel worse after going here.

    • Pamela Madison, Head of Complaints replied on

      I am sorry that you have had a negative experience of our services. We are a trust that welcomes the chance to receive and learn from comments about our services and would therefore like the opportunity to investigate your concerns for you. Receiving feedback from our patients and carers helps us to improve services for everyone. Unfortunately as the comment was left anonymously we are unable to respond to your individual concerns. If you could like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) [email protected] or the complaints team, [email protected] we will address your concerns. Please be assured that your care and treatment will not be adversely affected by making a complaint.

  17. It's in the Dodgy End of Town

    The Taylor Centre is directly next door to a Stripper’s Club on one side, and a Shop with Bongs in the window on the other side. It is a three-minute walk from the local Suicide Black Spot, the Queensway Overpass. [What was good about the service? How do you think this service could be improved? – edited by HWE] Staff should be familiar with British Traditions and Language.

    • Pamela Madison replied on

      I am sorry that you have had a negative experience of our services. We are a trust that welcomes the chance to receive and learn from comments about our services and would therefore like the opportunity to investigate your concerns for you. Receiving feedback from our patients and carers helps us to improve services for everyone. Unfortunately, as the comment was was left anonymously we are unable to respond to your individual concerns. If you would like to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) [email protected] or the complaints team, [email protected] we will address your concerns. Please be assured that your care and treatment will not be adversely affected by making a complaint.

  18. Gave me unecessary myoclonic episode

    Prescribed drug which should not have been given at same time as existing medication. Spent two weeks with myoclonic episodes. Diagnosed by neurosurgeon at Southend Hospital who was none too pleased with my psychiatrist and/or team. They could have checked to ensure medicines would not clash.

    • Pamela Madison replied on

      I am sorry that you have had a negative experience of our services. We are a trust that welcomes the chance to receive and learn from comments about our services and would therefore like the opportunity to investigate your concerns for you. Receiving feedback from our patients and carers helps us to improve services for everyone. Unfortunately, as the comment was was left anonymously we are unable to respond to your individual concerns. If you would like to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) [email protected] or the complaints team, [email protected] we will address your concerns. Please be assured that your care and treatment will not be adversely affected by making a complaint.

  19. Rude, arrogant and obnoxious.

    After 3 years under sept cmht, I am no nearer to recovery.
    Actually having to go here and see the consultant causes anxiety and panic attacks.
    Staff are rude and arrogant and the Dr I am under is obnoxious and aloof.

    • Pamela Madison replied on

      I am sorry that you have had a negative experience of our services. We are a trust that welcomes the chance to receive and learn from comments about our services and would therefore like the opportunity to investigate your concerns for you. Receiving feedback from our patients and carers helps us to improve services for everyone. Unfortunately as the comment was left anonymously we are unable to respond to your individual concerns. If you could like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) [email protected] or the complaints team, [email protected] we will address your concerns. Please be assured that your care and treatment will not be adversely affected by making a complaint.